As punishment for certain sex crimes, the State of Kansas requires the convicted individual to be registered on the state’s Sex Offender List. Under the Kansas Offender Registration Act, a defendant will need to comply with significant obligations for reporting his or her status as a registered sex offender. In addition, anyone with access to the internet will be able to look up the individual’s name on the Sex Offender List and know that he or she is a convicted offender.
Kansas’s law regarding sex offender registration defines an “offender” as someone who has been convicted of a sex crime, violent crime or drug crime, as well as someone who has been required to register by state law or the courts. The section of the law that focuses on sexual offenses and sexually violent crimes lists all of the following as crimes that will result in sex offender registration:
- Aggravated human trafficking
- Aggravated incest
- Criminal sodomy
- Electronic solicitation
- Indecent liberties with a child
- Internet trading in child pornography
- Lewd and lascivious behavior
- Patronizing a prostitute
- Promoting prostitution
- Sexual battery
- Sexual exploitation of a child
- Sexual extortion
- Sexually violent predator
- Unlawful sexual relations
In addition, any out-of-state conviction for an offense that is comparable to a sexually violent crime could require registry. During a criminal sentencing hearing, a judge has full discretion over whether or not to require a defendant to become a registered sex offender in Kansas. Being convicted of any of these sex crimes, however, generally means that the sentence will include mandatory sex offender registration.
Sexual crimes are not the only reason for a defendant to be registered in Kansas. State law also requires certain violent offenders to be entered onto the list. These violent crimes include:
- Aggravated human trafficking
- Capital murder
- Criminal restraint
- Kidnapping or aggravated kidnapping
- Murder in the first degree
- Murder in the second degree
- Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
Any felony conviction involving a deadly weapon or comparable violent criminal conviction from a different state could also lead to required registry on the list.
Finally, the Kansas Offender Registration Act states that certain drug crimes will qualify an individual to be put on the list. These include:
- Unlawful manufacturer or attempt to manufacture any controlled substance
- Possession of certain ingredients with the intent to use them to manufacture a controlled substance
Anyone who has been convicted of a comparable offense in another state or has been convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation of these crimes can also be put on the list.
What Are the Implications of Being a Registered Sex Offender?
The amount of time an offender must be on the list depends on the crime. It ranges from 15 years, 25 years or life. Being put on the sex offender registry in Kansas comes with a long list of duties, responsibilities and implications. This includes reporting to the registering law enforcement agency within three days of moving, getting a job or attending school. This initial registration requires a fee of $20, along with a photograph of the individual and registration forms. After the initial registration, the offender must return to the law enforcement agency four times per year.
Anyone who violates the provisions of the Kansas Offender Registration Act for more than 30 days will be found guilty of a new and separate offense. This will continue every 30 days thereafter for as long as the violation persists. After more than 180 consecutive days of noncompliance with the act, the individual will be guilty of an aggravated violation. Ignoring these duties is a level 6 felony for a first conviction, level 5 felony for a second conviction, and level 3 for a third or subsequent conviction.